Jersey City Minutes

Meeting record

Zoning Board of Adjustment, September 17, 2026

Body
Zoning Board of Adjustment
Date
September 17, 2026 (regular meeting)
Video
city recording, 0h 43m
Called to order
0:00:00
Adjourned
0:43:09
Agenda
data.jerseycitynj.gov
Votes
0 confirmed, 2 as heard, unconfirmed
The Zoning Board of Adjustment publishes no written minutes, so the votes and attendance on this page are as heard on the video and are marked unconfirmed until a memorialized resolution confirms them (see the vote rule).

Attendance

Items

9 Z2026-0046 case

Site Plan Extension, 2 Hoboken Ave

0:01:42 to 0:01:59 · Carried
Announced under correspondence and adjournments at 0:01:42, in answer to the Acting Chair's 'Joseph, do we have any correspondents or adjournments?' (0:01:39): the applicant requested to be carried to the October 1, 2026 Zoning Board meeting. Case number read 'Z-2026-0046' (0:01:48 to 0:01:50, word timing). Preservation of notice was not stated for this case; the general announcement on the lateness of the hour (0:02:21 to 0:02:34) mentions it. No motion or vote was heard.
12 Z2026-0025 case

Preliminary and Final Major Site Plan with ‘d’ Variances, 240 Fairmount Ave

0:02:00 to 0:02:16 · Carried
Announced under correspondence and adjournments at 0:02:00, after item 9, by the same speaker: case 'Z2026-0025' (0:02:04, word timing), 240 'Fairmont' Avenue; 'They've also requested to be carried to the October 1st Zoning Board meeting' (0:02:12). Carried to October 1, 2026. Preservation of notice was not stated for this case. No motion or vote was heard. The case was carried on July 9, 2026 to this meeting (item 13 of data/meetings/zoning-2026-07-09.json).
10 Z2026-0037 case

Site Plan Amendment, 577 Jackson Ave

0:02:44 to 0:14:12 · Approved
5-0 5 ayes, 0 nays, roll call at 0:13:57 as heard, unconfirmed
Motion to approve Case Z2026-0037 as presented (0:13:44), speaker not named; no second is clearly heard. Commissioner Shedeed's answer (0:14:00) is very faint on the audio and is recorded as aye on Adam Hanford's reading of 2026-10-18, matching the announced 'Motion carries 5-0' (0:14:09). Commissioners Allen (0:13:59), Czaplicki (0:14:03) and Burns (0:14:06) and Acting Chair Araujo (0:14:08) answered yes. No resolution of this case had been posted as of 2026-10-16. Published on Adam Hanford's decision of 2026-10-18. No memorialized resolution of this hearing yet, so the vote shows as heard, unconfirmed (EDITORIAL.md section 4).
Announced as new business at 0:02:44 ('case number Z2026-0037', word timing: 'Z2026' p 0.35, '-0037' p 0.77; '577 Jackson Avenue', 0:02:54). The applicant's architect was sworn at 0:04:54. Public comment was asked for at 0:12:10; one member of the public spoke. No questions from board members were heard when asked (0:13:31). No staff report was heard on the video; the agenda names Ben Jordan as review planner. Approved: the motion to approve carried by roll call ('Motion carries 5-0', 0:14:08); see the vote note for the answers heard.
11 Z2025-0081 case

‘c’ Variances, 285 1/2 3rd St

0:14:13 to 0:38:58 · Approved
5-0 5 ayes, 0 nays, roll call at 0:38:32 as heard, unconfirmed
Motion to approve Case Z2025-0081 as presented (0:38:20), speaker not named; no second heard. Commissioner Allen answered 'I'm a yes.' (0:38:38), Commissioner Czaplicki 'yes' (0:38:45) and Acting Chair Araujo 'Yes.' (0:38:53). Commissioner Shedeed's (0:38:43) and Commissioner Burns's (0:38:48) yes answers are faint on the audio and are recorded on Adam Hanford's reading of 2026-10-18, matching the announced 'Motion carries 5-0.' (0:38:58). No resolution of this case had been posted as of 2026-10-16. Published on Adam Hanford's decision of 2026-10-18. No memorialized resolution of this hearing yet, so the vote shows as heard, unconfirmed (EDITORIAL.md section 4).
Announced at 0:14:13 ('our next case is Z20250081', word timing p 0.88; '285 1/2 3rd Street'). The attorney appearing identified themselves as working with Stephen Joseph, the attorney on the agenda (0:14:45 to 0:14:48; see needs_checking). The applicant's architect (who also testified on item 10) and planner testified; exhibit A3 was marked at 0:18:34. Public comment was asked for in the 0:33:10 segment; none was heard. A board member, not named, then asked how the building would be constructed (0:36:02); whether it was the same member is not established. Approved: the motion to approve carried by roll call ('Motion carries 5-0.', 0:38:58); see the vote note for the answers heard.
13.1 resolution

Resolution: Resuming in-person meetings (administrative resolution)

0:39:31 to 0:40:02 · Memorialized
Voice vote, no roll call at 0:39:55 as heard, unconfirmed
No member's answer is recorded for a voice vote.
The first of four resolutions read for memorialization under agenda item 13 (introduced 'we have a few resolutions to memorialize', 0:39:31). The agenda lists no individual resolutions; 13.x is this record's order of reading. The reader is not named. As read: an administrative resolution, drafted by the reader, memorializing the voice vote taken on August 6, 2026 to meet in person starting with this meeting (0:39:31). That voice vote is item motion-in-person of data/meetings/zoning-2026-08-06.json. Memorialized by voice vote: 'So all in favor of memorializing that? Aye. Aye.' (0:39:55 to 0:39:57 word timing; the two 'Aye' p 0.96 and 0.26); no roll call and no member named, so no by-member vote is recorded.
13.2 Z2026-0029 case

Resolution: Extension of time for preliminary and final major site plan approval with ‘d’ and ‘c’ variances

0:40:05 to 0:40:58 · Memorialized
Voice vote, no roll call at 0:40:55 as heard, unconfirmed
No member's answer is recorded for a voice vote.
The second resolution read for memorialization under agenda item 13. Case number as read 'Z2026-0029' (0:40:14 to 0:40:15, word timing: 'Z2026' p 0.87, '-0029' p 0.99); no address was read. As read: heard on May 7 (0:40:10); an extension of time for approvals granted on February 24 and memorialized by a resolution on July 28, 2022, for preliminary and final major site plan approval with a D1 variance, a D6 height variance and a C bulk variance (0:40:18 to 0:40:25). Present that evening, as read: Chairperson Coyle and Commissioners Araujo, Shedeed, DeAngelo, Burns and Coviello; 'that application passed, seven in favor, none opposed' (0:40:38; six names read, see needs_checking). No record of the May 7, 2026 meeting exists in data/meetings. Memorialized by voice vote: 'All in favor of memorializing that?' (0:40:55) and one 'Aye.' (0:40:58, p 0.94); no roll call and no member named, so no by-member vote is recorded.
13.3 Z2025-0015 case

Resolution: Minor site plan with ‘c’ variances, 84 Coles Street

0:40:59 to 0:41:59 · Memorialized
Voice vote, no roll call at 0:41:59 as heard, unconfirmed
No member's answer is recorded for a voice vote.
The third resolution read for memorialization under agenda item 13. No case number was read; the reader gave the hearing date, August 6, and asked whether the address was '82 or 84 Cole Street' (0:40:59). The number Z2025-0015 is taken from item 10 of data/meetings/zoning-2026-08-06.json (84 Coles St, minor site plan with 'c' variances, motion to approve failed on August 6), which this reading matches. As read: an application for minor site plan approval with C variances; the motion to approve failed, 'One was in favor, but five were opposed' (0:41:31); in favour 'Vice Chair Araujo' (0:41:35); opposed 'Commissioners Czaplicki, Burns, DeAngelo, Shedeed, and Battelle' (0:41:39; see needs_checking). The reader added that the case had Historic Preservation Commission approval five to four and that staff opposed the application (0:41:45 to 0:41:53). In the reading of item 13.4, a speaker who is not named said 'I recused on the second one, yes' (0:42:43), which agrees with Allen's recusal on this case on August 6. Memorialized by voice vote: 'So all in favor of memorializing that is aye' (0:41:59, said by the reader; 'aye' p 0.68); no separate answer heard, no roll call and no member named, so no by-member vote is recorded. This records the August 6 vote, whose roll call is held in that record (Patel's answer unclear).
13.4 Z2025-0023 case

Resolution: Preliminary and final major site plan with use and bulk variances, 12-14 and 16 Harmon Street

0:42:02 to 0:42:59 · Memorialized
Voice vote, no roll call at 0:42:55
No member's answer is recorded for a voice vote.
The fourth and last resolution read for memorialization under agenda item 13. Case number as read 'Z2025-0023' (0:42:12 to 0:42:13, word timing: 'Z2025' p 0.94, '-0023' p 1.00), heard on the 'same date', August 6, and heard first that evening. As read: preliminary and final major site plan approval with a use variance and a bulk variance, 12-14 and 16 Harmon Street (0:42:02). The reader said Commissioner Allen was present for this case (0:42:34); a speaker who is not named said 'I recused on the second one, yes' (0:42:43); then 'this application was approved seven in favor, none opposed' and 'the six from before and Commissioner Allen voted yes' (0:42:44 to 0:42:51). This records the August 6 vote, item 8 of data/meetings/zoning-2026-08-06.json (approved 7-0 by roll call, published). Memorialized by voice vote: 'So all in favor of memorializing that is aye' (0:42:55) and one 'Aye' (0:42:59, p 0.64); no roll call and no member named, so no by-member vote is recorded. The memorialized resolution of Z2025-0023 on EnerGov (https://jerseycitynj-energovpub.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice#/plan/8480f573-e0ba-483f-8400-25e5190f7756?tab=attachments) gives 'Decided: August 6, 2026' and 'Memorialized: September 17, 2026' (p. 1); its vote table (7-0, Allen among those in favour, p. 15) is the August 6 hearing's roll call, not this voice vote.
15 motion

Adjournment

0:43:07 to 0:43:21 · Heard
Agenda item 15. 'Madam Chair, I'd like to make a motion to adjourn.' (0:43:07) and 'Second.' (0:43:09), speakers not named; 'Okay, thank you. So we'll see everybody October 1st.' (0:43:12). No vote was heard before the video ends (0:43:24). Executive session (agenda item 14) was not called on the video. The adjournment vote is not on the video; the record keeps the time of the seconded motion (0:43:09).

Record drafted 2026-10-16, checked 2026-10-16, reviewed by Adam Hanford 2026-10-18.